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FARMSTEAD INFORMATION 
-·· ·· ---- - -�·- · ·- �--------

Only complete this section (questions 14, 15 a, b, and c) if you are applying for a farmstead exclusion. If you answer yes to questions 15 
a, b and c, you may be asked to provide proof that the buildings and structures are used for commercial agricultural activity, such as the 
net income or loss schedule from your state or federal income tax forms. 

14. Only buildings and structures on farms which are at least ten contiguous acres in area and used as the primary residence of the
owner are eligible for a farmstead exclusion. If your property includes at least ten contiguous acres of farm land, check yes.

15. Check yes if the buildings or structures are used primarily to:

a. Produce or store farm products produced on the farm for the purpose of commercial agricultural production.

b. House animals raised or maintained on the farm for the purpose of commercial agricultural production.

c. Store agricultural supplies or machinery and equipment used on the farm in commercial agricultural production ..

Change In Use 

When the use of a property approved as homestead or farmstead property changes so that the property no longer qualifies for the 
homestead or farmstead exclusion, property owners must notify the assessor within 45 days of the change in use. If the use of your 
property changes and you are not sure if it still qualifies for the homestead or farmstead exclusion, you should contact the assessor. 

False or Fraudulent Applications 

The assessor may select, randomly or otherwise, applications to review for false or fraudulent information. Any person who files an 
application which contains false information, or who does not notify the assessor of a change in use which no longer qualifies as 
homestead or farmstead property, will: 

• Be required to pay the taxes which would have been due but for the false application, plus interest.

• Be required to pay a penalty equal to 10% of the unpaid taxes.

• If convicted of filing a false application, be guilty of a misdemeanor of the third degree and be sentenced to pay a fine not exceeding
$2,500.

By signing and dating this form, the applicant is affirming or swearing that all information contained in the form is true and correct. 

Applications must be filed before March 1st of each year.

Please return application to: 

Washington County Tax Assessment 
Office Attention: Homestead 
95 W. Beau St. Suite 525 
Washington, PA 15301 

For Questions on the Homestead or Farmstead Exclusion, please visit the county web page www.co.washinqton.pa.us, 
or contact the Washington County Assessment Office at 724-228-6850, office hours 9:00 to 4:30, Monday through Friday. 


