
2025 Upset Sale 
Wednesday, September 24, 2025, 10:00 A.M 

Washington County – Crossroads Building 
95 W. Beau St., G-16, Ground Floor, Washington, PA 15301 

 
 

SALE REGISTRATION 
 

Effective as of August 2021 per Act 33: ALL Prospective Bidders are required to pre-register at least 10 days prior 
to the sale date. Registration for the Washington County 2025 Upset Sale will take place at the Washington 
County Tax Claim Bureau located at 95 W. Beau St., Ste. 525, Washington, PA 15301 beginning at 9:00 A.M, 

MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 8, 2025. Registration will conclude on FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 12, 2025 at 4:00 P.M. Only 

complete applications, with all required registration materials will be accepted - DO NOT DROP OFF INCOMPLETE 
APPLICATIONS. NO EXCEPTIONS! Before registering for any sale, you are advised to read and review the included 
Sale Conditions & Instructions provided with all registration materials. 
 

FORMS & FEES REQUIRED FOR REGISTRATION: 
 

1 $25.00 Registration Fee (Cash Only – Non-Refundable) 

2 Bidder Registry Form 

3 Copy of Valid Photo Identification Card or Driver's License 

4 Affidavit of Bidder 

5 Affidavit of Non-Bidding Potential Owner (If Applicable) 
 

IF REGISTERING AS A BUSINESS, CORPORATION, OR LLC: 
 

7 Copy of IRS Form SS-4 

8 List of names, business addresses, and phone numbers for 
all members, officers, managers, partners, and/or any other 
persons with any ownership or right (attach separate list to 
bidder registry). 

 

PLEASE BE ADVISED that the Washington County Tax Claim Bureau does review each name and/or business name 
prior to the sale. In addition to general background checks to ensure there are no outstanding housing code 
violations within the last 3 years, we also submit our bidder lists to all other Tax Claim Bureaus in the 
Commonwealth of PA, all municipal authorities in Washington County, and all Third Party Delinquent Tax 
Collectors (Portnoff, Andrews & Price, Keystone Collections Group, Inc.). 
 
If you would like to pre-pay for an updated list of properties to be sold on the day of the sale, the cost is $10.00 
per list. You must pre-pay for as many lists as you would like DURING REGISTRATION. If you do not pre-pay for a 
list, we may NOT have extras to sell at the auction. 

 
 

SALE LISTS & OPENING BID AMOUNTS 
 
The Washington County Tax Claim Bureau updates the 2025 Upset Sale List periodically on the county website: 
www.washingtoncopa.gov. Please be advised that parcel owners have the right to redemption if they redeem 
their delinquencies in full before the sale of their property, including up and until, their parcel is sold at the 
live auction. For this reason, our department cannot guarantee that any desired parcel on this list will be exposed 
for sale on the day of the Upset Sale. 
 



BUYER BEWARE: ALL properties are being offered for sale by the Washington County Tax Claim Bureau without 
any representation, warranty or guarantee whatsoever, either as to the existence, to correctness of ownership, 
the size, boundaries, location, structures, condition of structure(s) or lack of structure(s) upon the lands, liens, 
title or any other matter or thing whatsoever. 
 
It is highly recommended that you research each property that you intend to buy at any tax sale. Title searching 
services are NOT provided to potential buyers through the Washington County Tax Claim Bureau, however, you 
may hire a title searcher to complete a search on any property independently. At Upset Tax Sales specifically, you 
may be responsible for any liens, judgements, mortgages, state/federal liens, unpaid taxes, unpaid municipal 
bills, etc. – even if they are not certified to us by lienholders to be added into the opening bid amounts. It is 
EXTREMELY important that you do your research before purchasing anything. If you are unsure, ask an 
experienced real estate attorney for legal advice. For attorney referral, please call the Washington County Bar 
Association at (724) 255-6710. 

 
 

SALE PROCEDURES & BIDDING 
 
As mentioned above, you MUST pre-register for the sale during the given registration period above. If you are 
not registered, you cannot register on the day of the sale. There are no refunds given on the paid $25.00 
registration fee, regardless if you attend or do not attend.   
 
REFUNDS will not be processed to an accidental bid or change of decision. If you rescind your successful bid on 
a property, you may be banned permanently from ever attending any future Washington County Tax Claim 
Bureau sales. 
 
BID PAYMENTS will be collected IN FULL at the Washington County Treasurer located at 95 W. Beau St., Ste. 130, 
Washington, PA 15301 by 3:00 P.M. the day of the sale. If payment is not received to complete the purchase, the 
bidder understands they will be permanently banned from attending or participating in any future sales in 
Washington County. Bid Money will be accepted in the form of cash, certified or cashier's check, money order, 
or Attorney’s check. All checks should be made payable to the Washington County Tax Claim Bureau. No Personal 
Checks will be accepted for Bid Payments. 
 
TRANSFER TAXES are calculated on the Fair Market Value of the property and will be included in the opening bid 
price of each parcel. Recording Fees are also included in the opening bid prices of each parcel. 

 
 

DEEDS 
 
Deeds will not be recorded in the Washington County Recorder of Deeds' Office until the sale is confirmed 
absolute by the Washington County Court of Common Pleas. This may mean that deeds may not be issued 
until mid-January 2026 or early February 2026. When deeds are recorded, deed(s) will be mailed to the address 
provided on the Bidder Registry form by First-Class, USPS mail. 
 

Your tax bill address for the parcel you purchase will be the address provided on your Bidder Registry form 
submitted at registration. This address will appear under the Certificate of Residence portion of the tax claim 
deed. If you would like to change your address after the deed is recorded to a different address, please call the 
Washington County Tax Revenue Department at (724) 228-6850 for more information about Address Change 
Requests and how to submit them properly. 

 
 



SALE LOCATION 
 

Our sale will be held at the Washington County – Crossroads Building, located at 95 W. Beau St., G-16 – Ground 
Floor, Washington, PA 15301. Elevators are available inside the building. The closest parking City of Washington 
public parking is available at the Crossroads Public Parking Garage located at 50 N. Franklin St., Washington, PA 
15301. For more detailed parking information for the City of Washington, please visit this website: 
https://downtownwashingtonpa.com/about-us/getting-here-around/. Please be advised that the Washington 
County, Crossroads Building, G-16 room is EXTREMELY LIMITED. Depending on the number of registrants, it 
may be standing room only for late-arriving bidders. Non-bidding potential owners as well as the general 
public may be asked to stand in the space outside the G-16 room by the elevators by our Sheriff Deputies, if 
space is overcrowded.  

 
 

OTHER IMPORTANT BIDDER INFORMATION 
 

ENTRANCE TO ANY PROPERTY PURCHASED IS STRICTLY PROHIBITED UNTIL A DEED IS RECEIVED. The present 
owner has the rights and responsibilities of the property until the deed is recorded in the purchaser's name. NO 
rights of ownership are transferred until that time. The Washington County Tax Claim Bureau does not maintain 
any property sold at the auction in any way - keys to properties are NOT provided. 
 

To avoid issues with title, quiet title action is heavily encouraged. If you are seeking advice for evictions, ejections, 
quiet title action, or any other tax claim related legal questions, please call the Washington County Bar 
Association for attorney referral at (724)255-6710. The Washington County Tax Claim Bureau cannot give legal 
advice. 

https://downtownwashingtonpa.com/about-us/getting-here-around/

